Weighing In

September 17, 2010 § Leave a comment

A few years back, while in Montreal visiting my aunt and uncle, we stopped into an art gallery that they were considering using to host an engagement party for my cousin. After a quick spin around the joint, I parked on a sofa and started flipping through some artist portfolios that were on the coffee table. It’s rare that I see something that grabs me so aggressively, but that day it happened. The work was from a group of artists that go by “HVW8”, Heavyweight. Now I must confess, I love graffiti, so when I saw their work, my head almost exploded. I loved it. They sew together iconic cultural portraits with a urban edge. As compelling as it gets. I will always be grateful to my mother-in-law for having them paint a Mies Van Der Rohe piece for us at our wedding. It’s the centerpiece of our living room.

Here’s their story.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Weighing In at The Great Room.

meta

