Black and White and Charcoal All Over

March 4, 2011 § Leave a comment

I have no idea why I was struck with nostalgia and inspired to look up Robert Longo, but I’m glad I did. When I was getting my MFA, he was my idol. I loved the way he, much like Caravaggio before him, thought of the viewer as a participant in the art. His large drawings of people falling make you feel like you need to get out of the way and some of his later work involved both 2 dimensional and 3 dimensional elements, suggesting that the viewer occupies space in the art.

His simple black and white drawings use scale as a brilliant tool in affecting the viewer.

Robert Longo "Untitled" 1981

Robert Longo "Men in Cities" 1981

Robert Longo "Untitled" Shark 4 2008

Robert Longo "Nights Bright Days" 2008

Robert Longo "Untitled" Gloria 2009

Robert Longo Studio View 2010

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Black and White and Charcoal All Over at The Great Room.

meta

